Putnam County Marriage License Information

Putnam County Clerk's Office: General Information

Address: 518 St Johns Ave, Palatka, Florida 32177
Phone: (386) 326-7680
We are an approved premarital course provider: For verification, please view the Premarital Course Provider List. We are listed as Hekimian-Williams, Elizabeth at the bottom of page 2.

Marriage License Overview

Couples that plan to purchase their marriage license must be prepared when they appear at the clerk's office. Every couple applying for the license must:

  • Complete the marriage license application (Click here to get a head start!)
  • Provide the clerk with valid photo ID such as a driver's license, state issued ID, passport, etc.
  • Be at least 18 years or older to marry without parental consent or have a signed consent form if between the ages of 16 and 17
  • Know their social security numbers (or alien registration number)
  • Read the Florida Family Law Handbook
  • Pay the marriage license fee

Fees & Discounts

couples who attend an approved premarital course qualify for a fee reduction for their marriage license. In order to receive the discount the couple must have attended a premarital course from the county's list of approved providers and bring a certificate of completion indicating that they spent a minimum of four hours dedicated to premarital education. Non-Florida residents do not qualify for a fee reduction.

  • Marriage license fee (without premarital course completion): $93.50
  • Marriage license fee (with discount): $61.00

Marriage License Use & Restrictions

There is a 3-day waiting period in Florida before a marriage license is effective and a couple may be legally married. Couples that have taken an approved premarital course are exempt from the waiting period and may be married immediately after the license is issued. There is not a waiting period if both people are non-Florida residents. Marriage licenses are valid for 60 days from the date it was issued. If it is not used by that time, the couple will need to reapply and pay the fee again before they can get married. The used license must be returned to the clerk's office within 10 days following the ceremony.