Polk County Marriage License Information

Polk County Clerk's Office: General Information

Address: 255 N. Broadway Ave, Bartow, Florida 33830 (see other locations)
Phone: (863) 534-4000
We are an approved premarital course provider: For verification, click here and click "Premarital Course Providers" (under Related Documents). We are listed on this provider roster as Hekimian-Williams Elizabeth, Envision Love LLC on page 6.

Marriage License Overview

Couples intending to apply for a marriage license must:

  • Be present at the clerk's office
  • Complete the marriage license application Have a complete marriage license application
  • Present valid photo ID
    • Examples of acceptable photo identification: driver's license, passport, state ID card, military ID, resident alien card, etc
  • Be 18 years or older to marry without parental consent
    • If 16 or 17 years old, provide a signed parental consent form
  • Know your social security number (or alien registration number)
  • Read the Florida Family Law Handbook
  • Pay the marriage license fee

Fees & Discounts

The cost for the marriage license, including the state and county fees is $93.50. Couples may attend a 4 hour approved premarital course to receive a discounted rate of $61.00. They must bring the certificate of completion with them when they apply for the license in order to receive the discount. Both couples must take a premarital course for the benefits to apply. Non-Florida residents do not qualify for a discount. Marriage license fees and any additional services (such as ceremonies) must be paid for with cash or credit card.

Marriage License Use & Restrictions

The state of Florida has a 3-day waiting period between the date a license is issued and it's effective date. Couples cannot be married until the effective date. Florida residents can skip the waiting period and be married immediately if they have completed a premarital course. If both members of the couple are non-Florida residents, there is not a waiting period. After you receive the marriage license, it will be valid for 60 days. After that point, it will expire and a new one will need to be purchased and issued if the couple has not used it. After a ceremony is performed, the couple has 10 days to return the used marriage license to the clerk's office for recording.

Getting Married at the Clerk's Office

Polk county offers small marriage ceremonies for couples who wish to be married by a Deputy Clerk at the clerk's office. This service is provided for an additional fee of $30.