Marion County Marriage License Information

Marion County Clerk's Office: General Information

Address: Clerk Annex, 19 NW Pine Avenue, room 126, Ocala, FL 34475
Phone: (352) 671-5588
Online Marriage License Application (expedite the process!)
We are an approved premarital course provider in Marion County. For verification, view the county's Marriage Course Provider List. We are located near the bottom of pg. 1, as Hekimian-Williams, Elizabeth.

Marriage License Overview

Couples planning to get their marriage license in Marion county will need to:

  • Appear in person
  • Complete the marriage license application (available online for faster service)
  • Have valid photo id in the form of a driver's license, state ID, passport, military ID, or alien registration card
  • Know your social security number
  • Read the Family Law Handbook (included in our premarital course for your convenience)
  • If applicable, know the date a previous marriage ended and the reason why
  • Pay the marriage license fee

Fees & Discounts

Couples that choose to attend a 4 hour approved premarital course qualify for a reduced rate for their marriage license. The standard rate is $93.50, however, after a discount, the fee is reduced to $61. While marriage licenses are issued immediately, they do not become valid until 3 days have passed. Couples who complete a premarital course and provide the certificate of completion at the clerk's office during the application process will skip the waiting period and receive the discounted fee rate.

Marriage License Use & Restrictions

Marriage licenses are issued at the clerk's office without an appointment, however, couples must complete the paperwork involved at the courthouse by 4:30pm in order for the application to be processed before the office closes. Marriage licenses are valid for 60 days from the issue date. Remember: after the license is issued, there is a 3-day waiting period for any Florida resident (unless they complete a premarital course) before a couple can be legally married. If both individuals are non-Florida residents, they do not have a waiting period and they do not qualify for a discounted rate. The marriage license must be returned to the clerk's office within 10 days, following the marriage ceremony.