Lake County Marriage License Information

Lake County Clerk's Office: General Information

Address: North Wing, 3rd Floor, 550 W. Main St, Tavares, Florida 32778 (other locations)
Phone: (352) 253-2648
Online Marriage License Application
Approved Premarital Course Provider List (pg.4, "Envision Love, LLC, Elizabeth Hekimian-Williams")

Marriage License Overview

Before couples can receive their marriage license from Lake County, they should:

  • Appear in person at the clerk's office
  • Provide a complete marriage license application (online application available for faster service)
  • Have valid photo ID (driver's license, state issued ID, passport, etc.)
  • Know their social security numbers (or alien registration number)
  • If applicable, know the date and how a previous marriage ended
  • Read the Family Law Handbook
  • Be prepared to pay the marriage license fee

Fees & Discounts

A Florida marriage license costs $93.50 after the state and county fees. However, the state of Florida offers a discount on the fee to couples who have attended an approved premarital course. If the couple takes a premarital course from one of the providers on the county's list, the couple will be able to purchase their marriage license for $61.00 --- that's a $32.50 discount! Couples that wish to take advantage of this discount must bring the premarital course certificate of completion with them when they apply for their license.

Marriage License Use & Restrictions

The state of Florida requires anyone who has not taken a premarital education class to wait 3 days before the marriage license is effective and a couple may be legally married. By taking the class, couples will not only get a discount on their fee, they will also be able to skip the 3-day marriage license waiting period. If neither individual is a Florida resident, there is not a wait period. If one individual is a Florida resident, while the other is not, the waiting period applies unless both individuals have completed a course. A marriage license is valid for 60 days from the issue date and it must be returned to the clerk's office within 10 days after the ceremony is performed.