Lafayette County Marriage License Information

Lafayette County Clerk's Office: General Information

Address: 120 W Main St, Mayo, Florida 32066
Phone: (386) 294-1600
We are an approved premarital course provider: For verification, please call the county clerk. We will be listed under Elizabeth Hekimian-Williams or Envision Love, LLC.

Marriage License Overview

To obtain a marriage license in Lafayette county (or any Florida county), the couple will need to:

  • Appear together at the clerk's office
  • Provide photo ID's such as a driver's license, passport, state ID, etc.
  • Know their social security numbers, or, if applicable, their alien registration number
  • Be at least 18 years olf, or have a signed parental consent form
  • Read the Family Law Handbook

Fees & Discounts

Florida marriage licenses cost $93.50, which includes the state and county fees. However, couples who attend an approved premarital course will qualify for $32.50 marriage license discount! This means that couples can receive their marriage license for only $61.00. To receive this discount, the couple must complete a county approved premarital course and bring the certificate of completion with them when they apply for their license.

Marriage License Use & Restrictions

In addition to a reduced cost, taking a premarital course has another unique benefit. Florida marriage licenses have a mandatory 3-day waiting period before they become valid, however, with a premarital course, this waiting period is removed. To skip the waiting period, both individuals must take the premarital course. If only one person takes it, the waiting period will not be removed. If both individuals are non-Florida residents, there is not a waiting period. After the couple receives their marriage license, it will be valid for 60 days from the date it was issued. The license must be returned to the clerk's office within 10 days following the ceremony.