Jefferson County Marriage License Information

Jefferson County Clerk's Office: General Information

Address: 1 Courthouse Circle, Monticello, Florida 32344
Phone: (850) 342-0218 ext. 225
We are an approved premarital course provider: For verification, please call the county clerk. We will be listed under Elizabeth Hekimian-Williams or Envision Love, LLC.

Marriage License Overview

Marriage license applicants will need to do the following before a license can be issued:

  • Appear together at the clerk's office
  • Bring valid photo ID, such as driver's license, state issued ID, passport, etc.
  • Know your social security numbers, the card is not neccessary
    • If you do not have a social security number, be prepared to provide your alien registration number
  • Complete the marriage license application
  • Read the Florida Family Law Handbook
  • Pay the marriage license fee

Fees & Discounts

A Florida marriage license is $93.50 which includes all of the state and county fees. However, couples who attend an approved premarital course will only pay $61.00. Couples must use a premarital course that is on the county's provider list, and will need to bring the certificate of completion with them when they apply for their license in order to receive the discount. The marriage license fee can be paid for with cash, cashier's check or credit cards.

Marriage License Use & Restrictions

Marriage licenses are issued immediately at the clerk's office and no appointment is neccessary. However, Florida law requires couples to have a mandatory 3-day waiting period after a marriage license is issued before they can be married. Couples who attend a 4 hour premarital course and provide proof of completion when they apply for their license will not have a waiting period. If both individuals are non-Florida residents, there is not a waiting period. Once you receive your marriage license, it is valid for 60 days from the issue date. The license must be returned to the clerk's office within 10 days after the ceremony is performed. One free certified copy of the marriage license will be sent to the couple within 10 days after the completed marriage license is received at the clerk's office for recording. Couples who wish to purchase additional certified copies can do so for $3 each.