Franklin County Marriage License Information

Franklin County Clerk's Office: General Information

Address: 33 Market Street, Suite 203, Apalachicola, Florida 32320 (see other locations)
Phone: 850-653-8861
We are an approved premarital course provider: For verification, please call the county clerk. We will be listed under Elizabeth Hekimian-Williams or Envision Love, LLC.

Marriage License Overview

If you plan to receive your marriage license, must appear in person at the clerk's office and provide:

  • A complete application
  • Valid photo ID (driver's license, state issued ID, passport, etc.)
  • Social security numbers (or alien registration number)
  • If applicable, information about a previous marriage (date it ended and the reason)
  • A signed affadavit (provided at the clerk's office) that you have read the Family Law Handbook
  • Marriage license fee

Fees & Discounts

The cost for the marriage license, including the state and county fees is $93.50. However, couples who attend an approved premarital course will only pay $61.00. In order to receive this discount, the couple must bring the premarital course certificate of completion with them when they apply for their license.

Marriage License Use & Restrictions

The Franklin county clerk's office issues marriage licenses immediately, without an appointment. However, couples must appear at the clerk's office together. The entire process typically takes less than 30 minutes. Although marriage licenses are issued immediately, there is a 3-day waiting period before the license becomes valid. Couples who complete a premarital course and bring the certificate of completion with them when they apply for the license will skip the wait. This means that the license will be valid upon issuance and the couple may be married immediately. If both individuals of the couple are non-Florida residents, they are also exempt from the waiting period. Once you receive your marriage license, it is valid for 60 days from the issue date. Within 10 days of the marriage ceremony, the marriage license must be returned to the clerk's office for recording.