Columbia County Marriage License Information

Columbia County Clerk's Office: General Information

Address: 173 NE Hernando Avenue, Lake City Florida 32055
Phone: (386) 754-7005
We are an approved premarital course provider. You can verify this by calling the clerk's office. We will be in their records under Elizabeth Hekimian-Williams or Envision Love, LLC.

Marriage License Overview

If you plan to receive your marriage license, the couple must appear in person and provide the clerk's office with:

  • Valid photo ID (in the form of a passport, driver's license or other state ID)
  • Their social security number, or, if an individual is not a U.S. citizen, they can provide their alien registration number
  • A signed copy of the Family Law Handbook, signed in front of the clerk of court
  • A complete the application
    • If either individual has been married previously, they will need to know the exact date and reason that the marriage ended
  • The marriage license fee

Fees & Discounts

The state fee for a marriage license in Florida (which includes all of the state and county fees) is $93.50. Couples who are Florida residents that complete an approved premarital course qualify for a fee reduction and will only pay $61.00. In order to receive this discount, both individuals must take the premarital course.

Marriage License Use & Restrictions

When a marriage license is issued, it is valid for 60 days. However, the state of Florida has a mandatory 3-day waiting period from the date of the marriage license application and the effective date (when a couple may be married). Couples who compete a premarital course and present a certificate of completion when they complete the marriage license application will have this waiting period waived. Out of state residents do not have a waiting period. You can use a marriage license obtained in any Florida county to get married anywhere in Florida.